Cookie Control

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.
I am happy to proceed

Greene: Spensers Amoretti (Benjamin Hulet/ Luke Green/ Giangiacomo Pinardi) (Naxos: 8.572891)

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
The distinguished English composer Maurice Greene was appointed Master of the King's Music in 1735. He soon composed a series of 25 sonnet settings taken from the collection of 89 Amoretti ('little loves') written by Edmund Spenser, one of the greatest poets of the Shakespearean age. These settings show Greene to have been a master of word-painting technique, and a subtle colourist with a sensitive ear for Spenser's verse. This jewel of a collection is also historically important, as it can be considered one of the earliest song cycles in the history of English music.

Item number 8572891
Barcode 747313289172
Release date 03/12/2012
Category Choral Music | Classical Music
Label Naxos Classics | Naxos Records
Media type CD
Number of units 1
Artists Luke Green
Pinardi Giangiacomo
Hulett, Benjamin
Composers Maurice Greene
Disc: 1
1 After so long a race
2 Happy ye leaves
3 Faire Eyes
4 Ye tradefull merchants
5 The rolling wheele
6 The merry Cuckow
7 How long shall this lik e dying life endure
8 The Laurell leafe
9 Like as a ship
10 What guile is this
11 Arion
12 Sweet smile
13 Marke when the smiles
14 The Love which me so cruelly tormenteth
15 Trust not the treason of those smiling looks
16 Fayre cruell
17 Faire yee be sure
18 Thrise happy she
19 After long stormes
20 Like as a huntsman
21 Fresh Spring
22 One day I wrote her name upon the strand
23 Lacking my love
24 Since I did leave the presence of my love
25 Like as the Culver
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Greene: Spensers Amoretti (Benjamin Hulet/ Luke Green/ Giangiacomo Pinardi) (Naxos: 8.572891), please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Brahms: Choral Music (Alto Rhapsody) (Naxos: 8.572694)
Gregorian Chant (Alberto Turco/ Elite/ In Dulci Jubilo/ Nova Schola Gregoriana) (Naxos: 8.520008)
ORFF: Carmina Burana (Eva Jenisova/ Gunter Appenheimer/ Ivan Kusnjer/ Pavol Prochazka/ Slovak Philharmonic Chorus/ Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra/ Stephen Gunzenhauser/ Vladimir Dolezal) (Naxos: 8.550196)
MOZART: Requiem (Igor Bohacek/ Jaroslava Horska/ Jozef Kundlak/ Magdalena Hajossyova/ Peter Mikulas/ Slovak Philharmonic Chorus/ Slovak Philharmonic Orchestra/ Stefan Klimo/ Vladimir Ruso/ Zdenek Kosler) (Naxos: 8.550235)
HANDEL: Messiah (Choruses) (Bratislava City Chorus/ Capella Istropolitana/ Jaroslav Krecek) (Naxos: 8.550317) 8550317 01/01/2001 £6.99
German Operatic Choruses (Austrian Radio Symphony Orchestra/ Budapest Radio Chorus/ Failoni Chamber Orchestra/ Hungarian Festival Choir/ Johannes Wildner/ Michael Halasz/ Pinchas Steinberg/ Slovak Philharmonic Chorus/ Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra) (Nax 8550507 01/01/2000 £6.99
Lamentations (Oxford Camerata) (Jeremy Summerly/ Murray Khouri/ Oxford Camerata) (Naxos: 8.550572) 8550572 01/01/2000 £6.99
PALESTRINA: Missa Papae Marcelli (Jeremy Summerly/ Murray Khouri/ Oxford Camerata) (Naxos: 8.550573) 8550573 01/01/2000 £6.99
BRAHMS: A German Requiem, Op. 45 (Alexander Rahbari/ Eduard Tumagian/ Martin Sauer/ Miriam Gauci/ Slovak Philharmonic Chorus/ Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra) (Naxos: 8.550213) 8550213 01/01/2000 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
Voices of Angels 8503071 01/01/2000 £14.99
Image Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items