Cookie Control

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.
I am happy to proceed

BROUWER: Estudios sencillos / Tres apuntes / Cancion de cuna (Bonnie Kraft/ Ricardo Cobo) (Naxos: 8.553630)

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
One of the few Cuban composers to gain international recognition, Leo Brouwer was born in Havana in 1939. He became a fine guitarist and had his first composition published at the age of 17. He subsequently moved to the United States and was enroled in the Juilliard School to study composition. On his return to Havana he worked for the radio and was later appointed composition professor at the Havana Conservatory.

Initially we find folk music inspiring his compositions, but he later embraced the most advanced West European avant-garde techniques while founding a new Cuban school of composition.

That largely changed at Juilliard where he came under the influences of the most avant garde composers, such as Cage, Nono and Henze, which were to stimulate his later works.

He has since written a number of large scale works, including concertos for flute and for guitar, though his name is best known in the field of solo guitar music.

Most of the music comes from the early part of his life, when he declares an Afro-Cuban influence. This description may have been politically wise, but listening to these 35 tracks you will find central European influences - and particularly Spanish - predominating. It is all very suited to demonstrating the guitar, sometimes poetic as in the twelfth of the Simple Studies, or brilliantly aggressive as in the opening study. And never has a title of a work been more misleading as these are very demanding and would be studies for advanced students.

The works mainly come from his highly productive early period (1954-1970), and though his documentation can at times be somewhat sketchy, the items on this disc are essentially from 1956 to 1958, the latest being the Elogio de la danza (Homage to the Dance), a rather smoochy pair of dances from 1964.

Ricardo Cobo had a 'baptism of fire' when his first professional performance with an orchestra was televised throughout his native Colombia. He had studied in the United States, and proved to be an exceptional young guitarist, winning every major prize the country has to offer for that instrument. Among the awards he has received is the Guitar Foundation of America prize, the first time a South American has been awarded the honour.

In 1990 he made his European debut with concerts in Spain, and his Asian debut two years later.

He now shares his time between Colombia and the United States where he serves on the Artist Faculty of Temple University.

In common with many new Naxos recordings, this disc has been made with 20-bit technology for improved sound definition. It was recorded in St. John Chrysostom Church, Newmarket, Canada, during August 1995.

Item number 8553630
Barcode 730099463027
Release date 01/01/2000
Category Instrumental | Classical Music
Label Naxos Classics | Naxos Records
Media type CD
Number of units 1
Artists Ricardo Cobo
Composers Leo Brouwer
Producers Bonnie Kraft
Disc: 1
Danza caracteristica (Quitate de la acera)
1 Danza caracteristica (Quitate de la acera)
Estudios Sencillos (Simple Studies)
2 First Series: I
3 First Series: II
4 First Series: III
5 First Series: IV
6 First Series: V
7 Second Series: VI
8 Second Series: VII
9 Second Series: VIII
10 Second Series: IX
11 Second Series: X
12 Third Series: XI
13 Third Series: XII
14 Third Series: XIII
15 Third Series: XIV
16 Third Series: XV
17 Fourth Series: XVI
18 Fourth Series: XVII
19 Fourth Series: XVIII
20 Fourth Series: XIX
21 Fourth Series: XX
22 Preludio
Fuga No. 1
23 Fuga No. 1
Piezas sin titulo, Nos. 1- 3 (Pieces without Title
24 Pieza sin titulo, No. 1
25 Pieza sin titulo, No. 2
26 Pieza sin titulo, No. 3
Dos aires populares cubanos (Two Popular Cuban Air
27 I Guajira criolla (On a Theme of Anckerman)
28 II Zapateado
Tres apuntes (Three Sketches)
29 I De el 'Homenaje a Falla'
30 II De un fragmento instrumental
31 III Sobre un canto de Bulgaria
Cancion de cuna (Berceuse)
32 Cancion de cuna
Ojos brujos (Sorcerer's Eyes)
33 Ojos brujos
Elogio de la danza (Homage to the Dance)
34 I Lento
35 II Ostinato
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like BROUWER: Estudios sencillos / Tres apuntes / Cancion de cuna (Bonnie Kraft/ Ricardo Cobo) (Naxos: 8.553630), please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

BROUWER: Guitar Music, Vol. 4 - La Ciudad de las Columnas / Nuevos Estudios Sencillos (Graham Anthony Devine/ Norbert Kraft & Bonnie Silver) (Naxos: 8.570251)
Guitar Laureate 2006 Guitar Foundation of America (GFA) - Thomas Viloteau (Norbert Kraft & Bonnie Silver) (Naxos: 8.570510)
Guitar Music from Cuba (Bonnie Silver/ Marco Tamayo) (Naxos: 8.555887)
Latin American Guitar Music (Bonnie Silver/ Ricardo Cobo) (Naxos: 8.557329)
BROUWER: Sonata / Hika / Suite No. 2 / Rio de los Orishas (Graham Anthony Devine/ Norbert Kraft) (Naxos: 8.554195) 8554195 01/05/2003 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
BROUWER: El Decameron Negro / Preludios Epigramaticos / Variations on a Theme of Django Reinhardt (Elena Papandreou/ Norbert Kraft) (Naxos: 8.554553) 8554553 01/11/2001 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
Latin American Guitar Festival (Gerald Garcia) (Naxos: 8.550273) 8550273 01/01/2001 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
Guitar Recital: Ricardo Gallen (Bonnie Silver/ Ricardo Gallen) (Naxos: 8.554832) 8554832 01/12/2000 £6.99
Guitar Recital: Antigoni Goni (Antigoni Goni/ Bonnie Silver/ Mike Nock) (Naxos: 8.553774) 8553774 01/01/2000 £6.99
Cavatina - Highlights from the Guitar Collection (Adam Holzman/ Antigoni Goni/ Jason Vieaux/ Jeffrey McFadden/ John Holmquist/ Margarita Escarpa/ Michel Pierre/ Nicholas Ward/ Norbert Kraft/ Northern Chamber Orchestra) (Naxos: 8.554400) 8554400 01/01/2000 £6.99
Image Image Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items