Cookie Control

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.
I am happy to proceed

BACH, J.S. (THE BEST OF) (Naxos: 8.556656)

Shipping time: In stock | Expected delivery 1-2 days | Free UK Delivery
Almost 79 minutes of the essential Bach in some of the best performances on disc. From the simple joy of Dame Myra Hess's Jesu Joy, to the pulsating Toccata in Wolfgang Rübsam's thought provoking reading, the great instrumental and orchestral music is all heard on this superbly compiled disc.

The juxtaposition of music also makes the issue one to enjoy as an introduction to Bach, and at the same time shows how adaptable his music has become to transcriptions, the solo violin sonata here played on the guitar.

Which Compact Disc wrote \it is good to see the excellent organist, Wolfgang Rübsam, back on record", when we issued the Toccata and Fugue, while Penguin Guide described the Brandenburg Concerto as "very well played", and of Chen Pi-Hsien's account of the Goldberg Variations the Penguin Guide says "an artist of refined musical intelligence and taste". We could go one throwing accolades at you, but you already know that if its on Naxos it has to be good.

Disc: 1
Violin Concerto in A minor, BWV 1041
1 Allegro Assai
Christmas Oratorio, BWV 248
2 Sinfonia
Jesu Joy Of Man's Desiring, BWV 147
3 Jesu Joy Of Man's Desiring, BWV 147
Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G major, BWV 1048
4 Allegro
Concerto in C minor for Violin and Oboe, BWV 1060
5 Adagio
Goldberg Variations, BWV 988
6 Aria
Suite No. 3 in D major, BWV 1068
7 Air
Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland, BWV 659
8 Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland, BWV 659
Piano Concerto No. 5 in F minor, BWV 1056
9 Largo
Suite No. 2 in B minor, BWV 1067
10 Badinerie
Brandenburg Concerto No. 1 in F major, BWV 1046
11 Adagio
Sonata No. 3 in C major for Solo Violin, BWV 1005
12 Largo
Violin Concerto No. 2 in E major, BWV 1042
13 Adagio
Suite No. 4 in D major, BWV 1069
14 Rejouissance
Brandenburg Concerto No. 2 in F major, BWV 1047
15 Allegro assai
Double Concerto in D minor, BWV 1043
16 Largo ma non tanto
Wachet auf, Cantata BWV 140, No. 1
17 Wachet auf, Cantata BWV 140, No. 1
Toccata and Fugue in D minor, BWV 565
18 Toccata
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like BACH, J.S. (THE BEST OF) (Naxos: 8.556656), please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

The Very Best of Bach (Naxos: 8.552103-04)
, BACH FOR MEDITATION (Naxos: 8.557650), Jablokov, Alexander
CHILL WITH BACH (Naxos: 8.556786)
BEST OF NAXOS 5 (Barry Wordsworth/ Bohdan Warchal/ Camerata Cassovia/ Capella Istropolitana/ Hae Won Chang/ Harald Nerat/ Jaroslav Krecek/ Johannes Wildner/ Kodaly Quartet/ Oliver Dohnanyi/ Richard Edlinger/ Robert Stankovsky/ Salzburg Chamber Philharmoni
Night Music Vol.16 (Naxos: 8.551136) 8551136 01/01/2001 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
Intermezzo: Classics for Relaxing and Dreaming (Naxos: 8.556616) 8556616 01/07/2000 £6.99
Largo (Naxos: 8.550950) 8550950 01/01/2000 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
BACH, J.S.: Adagio (Naxos: 8.552242) 8552242 01/01/2000 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
BACH, J.S.: Romantic Bach (Naxos: 8.552212) 8552212 01/01/2000 £6.99
Few in stock Buy +
Voices of Angels 8503071 01/01/2000 £14.99
Image Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items